Finding Your Community

You may have figured out what sector or even role you’d like to find yourself in a few years, you may already be there! Either way, building a network of like-minded individuals that you can support, find opportunities with, learn from and socialise with, is really valuable.

How do you do that?

There are two main routes to build your career networks: through social media and other online forums, and in-person networks and groups.

Online

This one is quite easy if you are active on different social media platforms, in particular LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

To actively look for existing groups, student enterprises or networks you should type keywords related to your career in the search engines for these sites, for example if you’re a law student you may type “law student” in and see what sort of things pop up.

LinkedIn is very useful for this since you can add people who have perhaps studied with you, who you meet at different events, and who generally just interest you! Having a large network of people who align with you allows you to stay in the loop about different things going on, allows you to reach out to people to ask for advice and even can be an opportunity for you to help people!

In-person

Slightly harder but not impossible!

If you go to university or college you may be able to follow the activities going on within departments or societies, a lot of these are usually open to give you that experience of networking, even if it is through a social lens! Often you’ll find that colleges and university societies will put on different career events: talks from employers, academics, workshops and more – these are a fantastic way to potentially reach out to people who are in senior positions who could help you out along the way.

Finally, using the Internet and social media to find networking-specific events in your local area is an excellent way to meet others from all walks of life.

Before we dive into specific sectors, there are plenty of networks I’d advise all of you to keep an eye on, as they often span multiple fields and focus on development more generally. A further note that some of these listings are more resource-based, but you should find at least one suitable network here.

Bright Network: https://www.brightnetwork.co.uk/

British Youth Council: https://www.byc.org.uk/

Common Purpose: https://commonpurpose.org/

Migrant Leaders: https://www.migrantleaders.org.uk/

Samsung Not a School: https://www.samsung.com/uk/explore/kings-cross/not-a-school/

SEO London: https://www.seo-london.org/

UK Youth: https://www.ukyouth.org/

UpReach: https://upreach.org.uk/

UpRising Leadership: http://www.uprising.org.uk

Accountancy, Finance, Banking and Business

Creative Arts and Design

a-n The Artists Information Company: https://www.a-n.co.uk/

Art for Messy Beings: https://www.linkedin.com/company/art-for-messy-beings/?viewAsMember=true

Arts Council England: https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/

Arts Council of Northern Ireland: http://www.artscouncil-ni.org/

Arts Council Wales: https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/

Arts for Mental Health: https://www.artsmentalhealth.org/

B+A: https://bandaequals.com/

Craftivist Collective: https://craftivist-collective.com/

Creative Conscience: https://www.creative-conscience.org.uk/

Creative Graduate: https://creativegraduate.co.uk/

Creative Scotland: https://www.creativescotland.com/

Girls in Media: https://www.linkedin.com/company/girlsinmedia/

Grads in Games: https://gradsingames.com/

Hubbub: https://www.hubbub.org.uk/

Inkygoodness: http://inkygoodness.com/

Kanaiza: https://www.kanaiza.com/

Music Students for Hire: https://www.musicstudentsforhire.co.uk/

National Youth Film Academy: https://www.nyfa.org.uk/

Radical Art Review: https://www.radicalartreview.org/

Stage Management Association: https://stagemanagementassociation.co.uk/

Student Publication Association: http://spajournalism.com/

Student Radio Association: https://www.studentradioassoc.co.uk/

The Tab: https://thetab.com/

The White Pube: https://www.thewhitepube.co.uk/

Healthcare and Medicine

Biochemical Society: https://biochemistry.org/

British Dental Association: https://www.bda.org/join?utm_source=linkedin&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=join-now-link-linkedin

British Medical Association: https://www.bma.org.uk/

British Pharmaceutical Students’ Association: https://www.bpsa.co.uk/

The British Student Doctor: https://www.bsdj.org.uk/

Chartered Society of Physiotherapy: https://www.csp.org.uk/

College of Paramedics: https://www.collegeofparamedics.co.uk/

Doctorpreneurs: https://doctorpreneurs.com/

Doctor’s Without Borders (MSF) UK: https://msf.org.uk/

European Junior Doctors: https://www.juniordoctors.eu/

European Medical Students Association: https://emsa-europe.eu/

Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management: https://www.fmlm.ac.uk/

GIANT Health Event: https://www.linkedin.com/company/gianthealth/

Grow Physio: https://www.growphysio.com/

The Healthcare Leadership Academy: https://www.thehealthcareleadership.academy/

Institute of Biomedical Science: https://www.ibms.org/home/

International Federation of Medical Students: http://ifmsa.org/

International Journal of Medical Students: http://www.ijms.info/index.php/IJMS

MedShr: https://en.medshr.net/

Melanin Medics: https://www.melaninmedics.com/

NHS Leadership Academy: https://www.leadershipacademy.nhs.uk/

The Occupational Therapy Hub: https://www.theothub.com/

Polygeia: https://www.polygeia.com/

Students for Global Health: https://studentsforglobalhealth.org/

Student Mental Health Research Network: https://www.smarten.org.uk/

The Medic Portal: https://www.themedicportal.com/

Work the World: https://www.worktheworld.co.uk/

Law

Black Barristers’ Network: https://www.blackbarristersnetwork.org.uk/

Bridging the Bar: https://bridgingthebar.org/

The Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot: https://www.kcl.ac.uk/law/professional-development/mooting

Junior Lawyers Division: https://www.linkedin.com/company/juniorlawyersdivision/

Law Society of Scotland Student Associates: https://www.lawscot.org.uk/

Legal Cheek: https://www.legalcheek.com/

The Legal Hive: https://thelegalhive.wordpress.com/

Legal Mile: https://www.thelegalmileglobal.com/

London Young Lawyers Group: https://lylg.org.uk/

Mooting Online: https://www.linkedin.com/company/mooting-online/

National Speed Mooting Competition: https://speedmooting.com/

The Negotiation Club: https://www.thenegotiationclubs.com/

Network for International Law Students: https://www.nilsinternational.org/

STEM Future Lawyers: https://stemfuturelawyers.co.uk/

The Student Lawyer: https://thestudentlawyer.com/

Urban Lawyers: https://urbanlawyers.co.uk/

Women in the Law: https://www.womeninthelawuk.com/

Politics, Social Science and International Affairs

British International Studies Association: https://www.bisa.ac.uk/

E-International Relations: https://www.e-ir.info/

Future Leaders Network: https://www.futureleaders.network/

Girls International Development Network: https://www.linkedin.com/company/girls-international-development-network/about/

Girls in Policy: https://girlsinpolicy.wordpress.com/

Institute of Development Studies: https://www.ids.ac.uk/

International Association for Political Science Students: https://www.iapss.org/

London International Development Centre: https://lidc.ac.uk/

Nuffield Foundaion: https://www.nuffieldfoundation.org/

Out of London: https://www.outoflondon.org.uk/

Patchwork Foundation: https://www.patchworkfoundation.org.uk/

Political Studies Association UK: https://www.psa.ac.uk/

Res Publica: https://respublicapolitics.com/

United Nations Volunteers: https://www.unv.org/

WIAN – The Women in International Affairs Network: https://www.wianetwork.com/

Young Citizens: https://www.youngcitizens.org/

Young Professionals in Foreign Policy: https://www.ypfp.org/

STEM and R&D

The Black Business Psychology Network: https://blackbusinesspsychology.com/

Black Geographers CIC: https://www.blackgeographers.com/

Black and Minority Ethnics in Psychiatry and Psychology: https://www.bippnetwork.org.uk/

BWEng: https://www.bweng.org/

Cajigo: https://www.structur3dpeople.co.uk/cajigo/

Code First Girls: https://codefirstgirls.org.uk/

Coders of Colour: https://codersofcolour.org/

Coding Black Females: https://codingblackfemales.com/

Founders of the Future: https://foundersofthefuture.co/

G&T (Girls and Tech): https://www.linkedin.com/company/girls-and-tech/

Girls in Tech: https://girlsintech.org/

Institute of Engineering and Technology: https://www.theiet.org/

Institute of Mathematics and its Applications: https://ima.org.uk/

Niyo Enterprise: https://niyoenterprise.com/

Raspberry Pi: https://www.raspberrypi.org/

STEM Women: https://www.stemwomen.co.uk/

Stemettes: https://stemettes.org/

Student Circuit: https://www.student-circuit.com/

Students Organising for Sustainability: https://sustainability.unioncloud.org/

TechLabs: https://www.techlabs.org/

WICE Awards: https://www.wiceawards.com/index.html

Wise Campaign: https://www.wisecampaign.org.uk/

Women in Maths: https://www.linkedin.com/company/womeninmaths-uol/posts/?feedView=all